Yabucoa is known as La Ciudad de los Azúcar, Yabucoa was founded in 1793. Derives its name from a Taino Indian term, which means sitio donde se cultiva la yuca.

Yabucoa is located in the southeastern region, north of Maunabo; south of San Lorenzo, Las Piedras and Humacao; and east of Patillas.

Palm Trees (Photo: Mark Collins)

The surrounding areas produces sugar cane.

There are many well-known "yabucoeños", among them: Santiago Vidarte, Antonio Ayuso Valdivieso, and Jaime Bague.

Yabucoa is made up of 10 barrios (wards/districts):

  • Aguacate
  • Calabaza
  • Camino Nuevo
  • Guayabota
  • Jácana
  • Juan Marín
  • Limones
  • Playa
  • Pueblo
  • Tejas

Things to See and Do In Yabucoa

Want to know what to see and do in Yabucoa? Discover few ideas for exploring and enjoying the city.

What to Do and See?

Where to Eat?

Where to Stay?

Festivals and Events

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]


Anthem: Yabucoa es mi Pueblo...


There are 23 public schools in Yabucoa, education is handled by the Puerto Rico Department of Education.


10 Day Forecast

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Did You Know?

Today, about two thirds of Puerto Ricans residing in the United States are in the New York City area, including nearby New Jersey.