Cidra is known as "El Pueblo de la Eterna Primavera" (the town of the eternal spring) or "El Pueblo de la Paloma Sabanera". Cidra was founded in 1809.

Iglesia de Cidra (Photo: Manuel Santiago)

Cidra is located in the central region of the island, north of Cayey; south of Comerío and Aguas Buenas; east of Aibonito; and west of Caguas. Its rivers are: Bayamón, de la Plata and Arroyata.

There are many well-known "cidreños", among them: writer Benjamín López.

Cidra is made up of 12 barrios (wards/districts):

  • Arenas
  • Bayamón
  • Beatriz
  • Ceiba
  • Monte Llano
  • Pueblo
  • Rabanal
  • Rincón
  • Río Abajo
  • Salto
  • Sud
  • Toita

Things to See and Do In Cidra

Want to know what to see and do in Cidra? Discover few ideas for exploring and enjoying the city.

Where to Eat?

Festivals and Events

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]

Interesting Facts

You can find in this town the house of "La Paloma Sabanera" the only bird in Puerto Rico with blue eyes, because of this the government protect this specie and is classified in danger of extinction.


Anthem: Del corazón de Puerto Rico nació Cidra


The annual precipitation is approximately 63.38 inches and the average temperature is 81.2ºF.

10 Day Forecast


There are 17 public schools in Cidra, education is handled by the Puerto Rico Department of Education.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Did You Know?

The Cathedral of San Juan Bautista is the oldest buildings in San Juan, and is the second oldest cathedral in the Western Hemisphere; construction began in 1521.