Yauco is known as El Pueblo del Café (coffee city). Yauco was founded in February 29, 1756 by Fernando Pacheco. Yauco derives its name from a name given by the Indians to a river close by, Coayuco River.

Yauco is located in the southern coast of the island, south of Maricao, Lares and Adjuntas; east of Sabana Grande and Guánica; and west of Guayanilla.

The surrounding areas produces sugar, coffee, tobacco, cotton and oranges. Yauco also produces textiles and other light manufactures.

There are many well-known "yaucanos", among them: Amaury Veray Torregrosa, José Enamorado Cuesta, Franciso Lluch Mora, Loaiza Cordero, Amelia Agostini, Carmelo Filardi, and Franciso Mattei.

Yauco is made up of 20 barrios (wards/districts):

  • Aguas Blancas
  • Algarrobo
  • Almácigo Alto
  • Almácigo Bajo
  • Barina
  • Caimito
  • Collores
  • Diego Hernández
  • Duey
  • Frailes
  • Jácana
  • Naranjo
  • Pueblo
  • Quebradas, Ranchera
  • Río Prieto
  • Rubias
  • Sierra Alta
  • Susúa Alta
  • Susúa Baja
  • Vegas

Things to See and Do In Yauco

Want to know what to see and do in Yauco? Discover few ideas for exploring and enjoying the city.

What to Do and See?

Where to Eat?

Festivals and Events

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]


Yauco Flag Yauco Coat of Arms

Anthem: Pueblo de gestas gloriosas...


There are 28 public schools in Yauco, education is handled by the Puerto Rico Department of Education. Yauco is also home of 1 university.


10 Day Forecast

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Did You Know?

The Cathedral of San Juan Bautista is the oldest buildings in San Juan, and is the second oldest cathedral in the Western Hemisphere; construction began in 1521.